Noah Building an Ark, by Faith

By faith Noah, being divinely warned of things not yet seen, moved with godly fear, prepared an ark for the saving of his household, by which he condemned the world and became heir of the righteousness which is according to faith. (Heb_11:7)

At times, the Lord asks His people to engage in assignments that seem to make no sense at all. Perhaps, it is a task that we have never undertaken. Perhaps, it is preparation for a problem that we have never encountered previously. One of the most profound examples from such categories was Noah building an ark, by faith. His example is profound both in the circumstances that he faced, as well as the extent of the impact of his faithful response.

The extreme wickedness of humanity was the setting. “Then the LORD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intent of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually” (

Gen_6:5). A worldwide flood would be man’s deserved judgment. “So the LORD said, ‘I will destroy man whom I have created from the face of the earth . . . I Myself am bringing the flood of waters on the earth ” (Gen_6:7, Gen_6:17). Noah was an upright man who lived in close fellowship with the Lord. He would be graciously delivered. “But Noah found grace in the eyes of the LORD. . . . Noah was a just man, perfect in his generations. Noah walked with God” (Gen_6:8-9). 

To build an ark for a monumental flood must have appeared absurd in a world that had never experienced such a phenomenon. Nonetheless, Noah fully accepted this divine admonishment, even though he had never witnessed what God was warning about. “By faith Noah, being divinely warned of things not yet seen . . . prepared an ark.” His faithful obedience was motivated by holy respect for the Lord and for all of His pronouncements: “moved with godly fear.”

The consequences of his labor of faith were far-reaching. His own family was saved: “prepared an ark for the saving of his household.” By Noah’s godly trust, the rest of the world was condemned for their ungodliness and unbelief: “by which he condemned the world.” Noah himself became numbered among those who illustrate that the Lord’s righteousness is received by trusting Him: “and became heir of the righteousness which is according to faith.” Additionally, he became a reminder of being ready for the return of the Lord. “But as the days of Noah were, so also will the coming of the Son of Man be” (Mat_24:37).

Prayer

Dear Lord, please teach me to respond in faith, as Noah did, whenever You call me to a perplexing assignment. Also, as impending judgment awaits the growing worldwide ungodliness, help me to proclaim Christ as the present ark of rescue, while eagerly anticipating His return, In Jesus’ name Amen.

26 comments on “Noah Building an Ark, by Faith

  1. Excellent services, I did not recognize also in relation to the lifestyle till a link from the friend. Too bad there may be solely very little recognized, mainly because here you can find actually beneficial info! Today i want to hope that it will eventually transform and will also be famous!

  2. You actually make it seem so easy together with your presentation but I to find this topic to be really something which I feel I might never understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very broad for me. I’m taking a look ahead in your subsequent post, I’ll try to get the dangle of it!

  3. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & help other users like its helped me. Great job.

  4. Can I simply say what a aid to search out somebody who really knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You positively know tips on how to deliver a problem to light and make it important. More individuals have to read this and perceive this aspect of the story. I cant imagine youre not more in style because you undoubtedly have the gift.

  5. An outstanding share! I have a minute ago forwarded this on a isolated who had been conducting a insufficiently homework by this. As well as he in actuality bought me dinner just as I originate it for him… lol. Accordingly assent to me reword this…. Express gratitude YOU for the meal!! Nevertheless yeah, thanx for spending some schedule to natter in relation to this matter now taking place your internet site.

  6. Just about all of what you say is astonishingly legitimate and that makes me ponder the reason why I hadn’t looked at this with this light previously. This article really did turn the light on for me as far as this specific issue goes. However at this time there is 1 issue I am not really too cozy with and whilst I try to reconcile that with the main idea of the point, let me see just what the rest of your visitors have to point out.Nicely done.

  7. With almost everything which seems to be building throughout this subject material, your viewpoints are actually somewhat stimulating. Having said that, I beg your pardon, because I do not give credence to your entire idea, all be it exhilarating none the less. It seems to everyone that your opinions are not completely rationalized and in fact you are generally your self not even fully confident of the point. In any event I did appreciate examining it.

  8. I think this is among the most important information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The web site style is ideal, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  9. Pingback: Jesus our true King – p6 « Christians for Christ Social Public Network

Leave a Reply

