The Power Of Love

“Love is strong as death.” – Son_8:6
Whose love can this be which is as mighty as the conqueror of monarchs, the destroyer of the human race? Would it not sound like satire if it were applied to my poor, weak, and scarcely living love to Jesus my Lord? I do love him, and perhaps by his grace, I could even die for him, but as for my love in itself, it can scarcely endure a scoffing jest, much less a cruel death. Surely it is my Beloved’s love which is here spoken of-the love of Jesus, the matchless lover of souls. His love was indeed stronger than the most terrible death, for it endured the trial of the cross triumphantly. It was a lingering death, but love survived the torment; a shameful death, but love despised the shame; a penal death, but love bore our iniquities; a forsaken, lonely death, from which the eternal Father hid his face, but love endured the curse, and gloried over all. Never such love, never such death. It was a desperate duel, but love bore the palm. What then, my heart? Hast thou no emotions excited within thee at the contemplation of such heavenly affection? Yes, my Lord, I long, I pant to feel thy love flaming like a furnace within me. Come thou thyself and excite the ardour of my spirit.
“For every drop of crimson blood
Thus shed to make me live,
O wherefore, wherefore have not I
A thousand lives to give?”
Why should I despair of loving Jesus with a love as strong as death? He deserves it: I desire it. The martyrs felt such love, and they were but flesh and blood, then why not I? They mourned their weakness, and yet out of weakness were made strong. Grace gave them all their unflinching constancy-there is the same grace for me.

Prayer
Jesus, lover of my soul, shed abroad such love, even thy love in my heart, this evening.

27 comments on “The Power Of Love

  1. Fantastic internet site, I like your website, apologies which i didn’t find it quicker. But a great deal better overdue than in no way, appropriate?

  2. I discovered this page by accident, but this time through I am not necessarily about to second guess! Very good information which includes produced in the past My partner and i found your favorites and since i quickly are a relentless viewer!

  3. With regard to functions like your own personal created internet! It’s wonderful that there are even now those who write weblogs as well as you! Will not quit this!

  4. Its like you learn my mind! You appear to know so much approximately this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I feel that you just can do with a few percent to drive the message home a little bit, however instead of that, that is wonderful blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  5. you’re truly a good webmaster. The web site loading velocity is amazing. It sort of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a fantastic activity in this topic!

  6. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? With thanks

    • Thank you for passing by, it wasn’t really tough for me, i believe, well, for me it was kind of easier – i first asked for guidance from the Lord, then he said go ahead and i just started. Perhaps it depends with what blog it is you are writing! But, all the same; it’s just normal blogging. Go to wordpress.com/org, they will guide you.

  7. I do trust all the concepts you’ve offered in your post. They’re really convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for starters. May just you please lengthen them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  8. Today, I went to the beach with my children. I originate a sea shell and gave it to my 4 day old daughter and supposed “You can take notice of the ocean if you situate this to your ear.” She situate the shell to her ear and screamed. Near was a hermit crab in the interior and it pinched her ear. She never desires to go back! LoL I know this is absolutely rotten focus but I had to tell someone!

  9. you are in reality a excellent webmaster. The website loading velocity is amazing. It seems that you are doing any distinctive trick. In addition, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a excellent process in this topic!

Leave a Reply

